London’s Barbican to host world premiere of Tolga Kashif’s The Genesis Suite

Tolga Kashif

Turkish Cypriot Tolga Kashif will premiere his new album ‘The Genesis Suite’ at the Barbican on Monday 11 October. Following his best-selling Queen Symphony, the internationally renowned composer, conductor and producer returns with a classical make-over of rock legends Genesis. The live launch of the album at the prestigious London venue will be performed by Kashif, the London Symphony Orchestra and other special guests.

With the blessing of the band members, Kashif started work on the album 18 months ago, composing a suite of contemporary orchestral works inspired by Genesis’ songs, themselves influenced by a wide range of musical styles. Each piece of the seven track album is cast in a different mode, ranging from the filmic to the classical, and encapsulates the sweeping range of moods heard in the band’s extensive back catalogue. Tolga’s classical reworking imaginatively weaves pulsating orchestral soundscapes with uplifting choral lines, intermingling with gentle instrumentals.

Kashif explains his aim was not just a simple re-arrangement of Genesis music, “My goal has been to maintain the essence of the songs whilst expanding and extending out some of my own thoughts, taking it to another level where I’m grappling with the material in a more profound way, which Genesis and classical fans alike will appreciate.”

The Genesis Suite is released on the Lightsong label. It can be pre-ordered from Amazon and will be available from all good music retailers from 11 October.  Tickets for the concert are on sale now from the Barbican Box Office, either online ( or by telephone 020 7638 8891 (Mon-Sat 9am-8pm, Sun 11am-8pm). The Barbican concert will be followed up by a tour in 2011.

Tolga Kashif has performed in Turkey on numerous occasions, including at the Istanbul Festival with the Royal Liverpool Orchestra and at Efes with his Queen Symphony, as well as conducting the Presidential Orchestra of Turkey. He is keen to use his Lightsong label to promote Turkey’s musical tapestry and to realise a personal aspiration, to collaborate with Turkey’s Queen of Pop Sezen Aksu.

About Tolga Kashif’s new album, The Genesis Suite

1. Land of Confusion / Tonight, Tonight, Tonight (7:36) London Voices
2. Ripples (9:47) Freddy Kempf, piano
3. Mad Man Moon: Fantasia (Concertante for Violin and Orchestra) (16:42) Tomo Keller, violin
4. Follow You Follow Me (6:29) Caroline Dale, cello
5. Fading Lights (12:13)
6. Entangled (7:26) Freddy Kempf
7. Undertow / Blood on the Rooftops (12:45) London Voices

Total time: 72:58

Release date: 11 October 2010 on the Lightsong label
Arranged, produced and conducted by Tolga Kashif
Recorded July 2010 at Abbey Road Studio 1, Air Studios, Angel Studios, and Kore Studios, London
Recording engineers: Nick Woollage (Abbey Road) and Simon Hanhart (Air)

Who is Tolga Kashif?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.